USMNT to push ‘Be the Change’ message in Qatar

DOHA, Qatar — United States men’s national team coach Gregg Berhalter said he and his team will continue to “change” the team’s activities while in Qatar, as FIFA told participants not to raise awareness about the country’s treatment of guests. immigrant workers and the LGBTQIA+ community.

Those two issues have been brought to light since the time that the Persian nation was defeated in the 2010 World Cup. Same-sex relationships are illegal in Qatar, and are migrant workers, some of whom are building the stadiums that will be in use. The World Cup, they had to endure very difficult working and living conditions.

– Marcotti: How FIFA can make real change for migrants in Qatar

Earlier this month, a letter from FIFA president Gianni Infantino and general secretary Fatma Samoura pleaded that “Applause, now focus on football” and “don’t allow football to be drawn into any ideological or political conflict.” “

The Emir of Qatar, Emir Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani, was also criticized, “declaring fabrications and double standards” in what he called an “unprecedented campaign” against the World Army nation.

Also Read :  Marcus Rashford and the goal celebration that is transcending football

But Berhalter said he and his side will continue to raise awareness for social issues.

“I think we’re on the world stage and” [we’re in] Qatar, It is important to raise awareness of these things, and that is what Change is about,” Berhalter said. “It is not the only state that we want to work on in social matters. It is also outside.

“We recognize that Qatar has made steps and a ton of progress, but there is still some work to be done. And just be. Change basically means a unique ability to change and change the beginning with them. It is appropriate that we also think here.

The US crest is also covered with a rainbow of colors, although only in US controlled areas, such as its training facility.

Berhalter added that he has been talking to his team about social issues in Qatar for “18 months”. There are also players on the board.

US goalkeeper Sean Johnson said,[Be the Change is] something that we were really proud of, and obviously we will work to be impactful in Qatar.

On Tuesday, the team is scheduled to participate in an event where 20 migrant workers will coach those involved in building the tournament’s infrastructure. The event is aimed at the contribution of workers to celebrate the World Cup.

Also Read :  Qatar makes World Cup debut in a controversial tournament of firsts

The Be Change program began in November 2020, with a message placed on the team’s warm-up shirts. This was done as a way to preserve the Black Lives Matter movement and the social justice protests that took place across the US in the wake of the murder of George Floyd in May 2020.

The USMNT later used the phrase to support gun control measures that were being put before the USO Congress.

Meanwhile, forward Christian Pulisic will wear No. 10 for the United States in the World Cup and goalkeeper Matt Turner will wear No. 1.

The US team announced their jersey numbers Monday, a week before Wales play in Al Rayyan, Qatar, in their first World Cup match since 2014. DeAndre Yedlin, the sole holder of the number eight years ago, is in No. 22 instead of No. 2.

Twenty-two of the 26 players in Qatar were ahead of Monday’s training session, with Sergino Dest, Weston McKennie, Tim Weah and Haji Wright matching the league schedule with their European clubs the following day on Sunday.

Also Read :  Qatar Authorities Threaten To Smash Camera Of World Cup News Crew On Live TV

The former No. 10 includes Peter Vermes (1990), Roy Wegerle (1994), Tab Ramos (1998), Claudius Reyna (2002 and 2006), Landon Donovan (2010) and Mix Diskerud (2014).

Turner follows Tony Meola, who wore the no. 1 in 1990 and ’94, Brad Friedel in 1998 and 2002 and Tim Howard in 2006, ’10 and 14.

Other jersey numbers: Walker Zimmerman No. 3, Tyler Adams No. 4, Anthony Robinson No. 5, Yunus Musah No. 6, Gio Reyna No. 7, McKennie No. 8, Jesus Ferreira No. 9, Brenden Aaronson No. 11, Ethan Horvath No. 12, Tim Ream No. 13, Luca de la Torre No. 14, Aaron Long No. 15, Jordan Morris No. 16, Cristian Roldan No. 17, Shaq Moore No. 18, Wright No. 19, Cameron Carter-Vickers No. 20, Weah No. 21, Kellyn Acosta No. 23, Josh Sargent No. 24, Sean Johnson No. 25 and Joe Scally No.

Information from the Associated Press is included in this report.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button